Our Lawyers

Our lawyers are all qualified professionals who are admitted into practice and permitted to provide legal services as Legal Practitioners. Each lawyer has completed strenuous accredited academic law courses and practical legal training courses.

The Law Society of NSW, the Legal Profession Admission Board and the Supreme Court of NSW have the responsibility of ensuring only appropriately qualified people provide legal advice and representation.

Admission as a Lawyer
The Legal Profession Admission Board assesses the eligibility and suitability of people who wish to be admitted to the Australian legal profession as an Australian lawyer. The Board must be satisfied that the person:

  1. is aged 18 years or over; and
  2. is not already admitted to the Australian legal profession; and
  3. has attained the specified academic qualifications prerequisite, and
  4. has satisfactorily completed the specified practical legal training prerequisite, and
  5. is a fit and proper person to be admitted to the Australian legal profession, and
  6. takes an oath of office, or makes an affirmation of office, in the form required by the Supreme Court.

An online guide to being admitted as a Lawyer in New South Wales is available here.

Practising Certificates
A practising certificate is basically a licence which allows a solicitor to provide legal services. All solicitors who currently practise the law in NSW must hold a practising certificate issued by the Law Society’s Council or a practising certificate issued by the designated regulatory authority in another Australian jurisdiction.

You can be sure that our lawyers each have a valid practising certificate and are fully qualified to provide legal services. It means they have:

  • satisfied both academic and Practical Legal Training requirements
  • been admitted to the profession by the Supreme Court of NSW or admitted in another Australian state or territory
  • committed to the continual update of their skills and knowledge
  • agreed to comply with a range of laws that govern professional standards in the legal profession.

Continuing Professional Development (CPD)
Every lawyer is required to complete 10 units of CPD units each year in the compulsory fields of:

  1. Ethics and professional responsibility
  2. Practice management and business skills
  3. Professional skills
  4. Substantive law